(ca. 7')


Published in August 2014 by AvA Musical Editions 

 Also available at:    • June Emerson
 Available digitally at nkoda

This piece was thought to be played on the B flat side of the Horn. This characteristic allows this piece to be idiomatically played on a Trombone on an Euphonium.

Parts available in Bass Clef (in C) and Trebble Clef (in Bb)


Featured piece at the Matosinhos' International Competition 2014, at the Juvenile Category from the "Terras de La Salette" Wind Instruments International Competition 2015 at the I Concurso Internacional de Sopros organised by the Conservatório do Vale do Sousa in 2016 and at the Infant category of the 1st APTE Competition (Portuguese Tuba and Euphonium Association)




The first movement “Let’s play” is a rhythmical joke, alternating different metrics.




Next, “Water Ripples” intends to illustrate small water ripples, using a chord sequence. This movement’s slow tempo makes it a good piece for practicing breathing a phrasing control.




Finally, “Rag” is a ragtime, great for practicing swing and range shifts.



A welcomed original work for young euphoniumists is Portuguese composer/horn player Ricardo Matosinhos' Low Horn Suite. Born in 1982, Ricardo studied horn at the Professional School of Music (Esproarte), Mirandela, Portugal and at the Superior School of Music and Performing Arts in Oporto, Portugal. He currently teaches at ARTAVE/CCM and at Academia de Música de Costa Cabral in Portugal.

Low Horn Suite was originally composed to be played on the B-flat side of the horn, its range allows it to be easily adapted for younger low brass players. It was the required solo work for the 2014 Matosinhos International Competition. It is the ideal length for young players to use for the various Solo and Ensemble Festivals and Competitions. It has three short movements that total approximately 7:00. "Let's Play!" is a short work that has a repeated theme with a few meter changes inserted to give it the characteristics of, as the composer states, a rhythmical joke. "Water Ripples" is in 12/8 and is a slower tempo to help emulate the movement of rippling water. Although the phrases are not marked, the composer suggests that this movement will be a nice work for practicing breath control and phrasing. "Rag" is a short work that has a catchy theme with a jazz-feel. The eighth notes are swung, so style may confuse some younger players. There are a few articulations that will be helpful for the younger players' interpretation, but it would be more effective if there were better marked phrase markings.

Outstanding additions to this work are the play-a-long files that can beDOWNLOADED from the publisher's website. This will likely prove to be useful for practice purposes and may also be used for a performance if a pianist were not available. Although the lower range of this work can be alluring to younger students, please note that some of the complex rhythms will present a bit of a challenge for some players. The layout and paper quality of the music are excellent and there are bass clef and B-flat treble clef parts included. 

~Dr. Gail Robertson, Visiting Assistant Professor of Tuba, Euphonium, and Jazz - University of Central Arkansas, Willson International Euphonium Artist, SymbiosisDuo



Play Along available here